Body System: Reproductive - Female

Helping Hand Logo

The female reproductive system consists of external parts (outside of the body) and internal organs (inside the body).

Parts of the reproductive system

The major parts of the reproductive system are:Female Reproductive System

  • Vulva - the outside parts of the female reproductive system. It includes the mons, clitoris, labia, hymen and the opening of the urethra (Picture 3).
  • Mons - the fatty pad of skin over the pubic bone 
  • Clitoris - a small, round knob of tissue located on the upper part of the vulva that has thousands of nerve endings 
  • Labia - the folds of skin on each side of the vagina 
  • Hymen - a thin fold of skin that partly covers the opening of the vagina
  • Vagina - the inside passageway to the cervix and uterus. It receives the penis during sex and serves as the birth canal during childbirth. It is where babies come out.
  • Cervix - the organ that surrounds the opening from the vagina to the uterus
  • Uterus (womb) - the hollow organ where a baby develops. 
  • Endometrium - the lining of the uterus.
  • Ovaries - Eggs mature here and are released from these paired (2) organs. They also produce female hormones.
  • Fallopian tubes - Paired passageways for eggs to go from the ovaries to the uterus.

Female Reproductive System

Female Reproductive System

Body System: Reproductive - Female (PDF)

HH-IV-51 8/80, Revised 5/17 Copyright 1980, Nationwide Children’s Hospital