Continuing Certification – Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

Continuous Lifelong Learning for Better Patient Care

ABMS MOC Standards and Criteria

To review the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) MOC program standards, click here.

Four-Part Process

While ABMS guides the MOC process, each individual ABMS Member Board sets the requirements and criteria for each specialty. The four-part MOC process includes:

Part I: Professionalism and Professional Standards

Valid, unrestricted medical license in the United States or Canada.

Part II: Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment

Evidence of participation in educational and self-assessment programs that meet specialty-specific standards set by their member board.

Part III: Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment and Skills

Pass Board-approved examination which verifies fundamental, practice-related and practice environment-related knowledge to provide quality care in their specialty.

Part IV: Improvement in Medical Practice

Evidence of participation in ongoing assessments and improvement in the quality of care provided by diplomates in their individual practices.

ABMS Portfolio Program Sponsor logoNationwide Children’s Hospital was the first children’s hospital approved as an ABMS Portfolio Program Sponsor.

For more information, visit ABMS Continuing Certification or contact